Review the town-by-town list below.

Lumberton is the latest municipality to join the handful of towns, cities and boroughs in South Jersey that will permit the sale of recreational marijuana within its borders.

The Township Committee last Thursday adopted an ordinance permitting cannabis businesses along with another ordinance imposing a tax on the sale of the marijuana at the different levels of production and distribution. The cultivation, manufacturing, wholesaling, distribution, retailing and delivery of cannabis will be permitted only in Lumberton's industrial zones, according to the ordinance.

A analysis of South Jersey municipalities shows only about 1 in 5 have so far allowed cannabis sales in their communities, although not every municipality has decided yet. The analysis found 78 South Jersey municipalities have made decisions or have made a preliminary finding. Only 14 plan to permit sales.

South Jersey stretches from Burlington County south to Salem County.

Lumberton joins Mount Laurel, Bass River, Beverly, Delran, Eastampton and Shamong in permitting sales in Burlington County. Medford and Medford Lakes have prohibited sales and Evesham and Moorestown have yet to decide. In Camden County, Cherry Hill and Voorhees have not made a decision.

Mount Laurel's approval, by the Township Council, was made on June 14.

Municipalities across New Jersey are wrestling with whether or not to permit marijuana sales within their borders. They have until August 21, when the state Cannabis Regulatory Commission will disclose the regulations. A municipality that does not vote by the deadline automatically opens its commercial and industrial districts to marijuana businesses with no local restrictions.

Marijuana users must be 21 years or older in New Jersey. 

One township, Logan in Gloucester County, introduced an ordinance on June 15 permitting the manufacture, preparation and packaging of cannabis products but not the sale, distribution or cultivation within town limits. The final vote by the Logan Township Council is scheduled for July 20.


Municipalities that are allowing or prohibiting recreational cannabis sales, cultivation and manufacture in their communities. Information based on legal notices from municipalities. In some cases, the final vote has not yet been taken. The six classes of recreational marijuana businesses are: 1. Cultivator, 2. Manufacturer, 3. Wholesaler, 4. Distributor (transporting cannabis from one business to another), 5. Retailer and 6. Delivery (courier services for consumers).

Some of the communities indicated the prohibition might be temporary because more time is needed to make a decision. The Maple Shade ordinance, for example, notes the Township needs "to ensure sufficient time to carefully review all aspects of the Act and its impacts."

(1) Cinnaminson will permit retailers only when connected to cultivation or manufacturing operations.

(2) Logan will permit only the manufacture.

(3) Lower Alloways Creek will not permit retailers or delivery.

(4) East Greenwich will permit only cultivation and processing.

(5) Northfield will permit retailers, wholesalers and distributors.

(6) Lower Township will permit retailers and delivery services. 

(7) Mantua Township imposed a tax on pre-existing cannabis cultivation.

We incorrectly reported earlier that Washington Township, Gloucester County, and Mantua Township were allowing. They are not. If you find any discrepancies, please email

SOURCE: © analysis from legal notices.

Absecon Atlantic ALLOW
Atlantic City Atlantic ALLOW
Brigantine Atlantic PROHIBIT
Buena Vista Atlantic PROHIBIT
Egg Harbor Township Atlantic ALLOW
Estell Manor Atlantic PROHIBIT
Longport Atlantic PROHIBIT
Margate Atlantic PROHIBIT
Mullica Township Atlantic PROHIBIT
Northfield Atlantic ALLOW (5)
Port Republic Atlantic PROHIBIT
Somers Point Atlantic PROHIBIT
Ventnor Atlantic PROHIBIT
Weymouth Atlantic PROHIBIT
Bass River Burlington ALLOW
Beverly Burlington ALLOW
Bordentown Burlington PROHIBIT
Burlington City Burlington ALLOW
Burlington Township Burlington PROHIBIT
Chesterfield Burlington PROHIBIT
Cinnaminson Burlington ALLOW (1)
Delanco Burlington PROHIBIT
Delran Burlington ALLOW
Eastampton Burlington ALLOW
Evesham Burlington ALLOW
Fieldsboro Burlington PROHIBIT
Florence Burlington PROHIBIT
Lumberton Burlington ALLOW
Mansfield Burlington PROHIBIT
Maple Shade Burlington PROHIBIT
Medford Burlington PROHIBIT
Medford Lakes Burlington PROHIBIT
Mount Holly Burlington ALLOW
Mount Laurel Burlington ALLOW
New Hanover Burlington PROHIBIT
North Hanover Burlington PROHIBIT
Palmyra Burlington PROHIBIT
Pemberton Borough Burlington PROHIBIT
Pemberton Township Burlington ALLOW
Riverton Burlington PROHIBIT
Shamong Burlington ALLOW
Southampton Burlington PROHIBIT
Springfield Burlington PROHIBIT
Tabernacle Burlington PROHIBIT
Westampton Burlington PROHIBIT
Wrightstown Burlington PROHIBIT
Audubon Camden PROHIBIT
Audubon Park Camden PROHIBIT
Barrington Camden ALLOW
Bellmawr Camden PROHIBIT
Berlin Borough Camden PROHIBIT
Berlin Township Camden PROHIBIT
Camden Camden PROHIBIT
Cherry HIll Camden PROHIBIT
Chesilhurst Camden PROHIBIT
Clementon Camden PROHIBIT
Haddon Heights Camden PROHIBIT
Haddon Township Camden PROHIBIT
Haddonfield Camden PROHIBIT
Hi-Nella Camden PROHIBIT
Lawnside Camden PROHIBIT
Lindenwold Camden PROHIBIT
Magnolia Camden PROHIBIT
Merchantville Camden ALLOW
Mount Ephraim Camden PROHIBIT
Oaklyn Camden ALLOW
Pine Hill Camden PROHIBIT
Runnemede Camden PROHIBIT
Stratford Camden PROHIBIT
Voorhees Camden ALLOW
Avalon Cape May PROHIBIT
Cape May City Cape May PROHIBIT
Dennis Cape May PROHIBIT
Lower Township Cape May ALLOW
Middle Township Cape May PROHIBIT
North Wildwood Cape May PROHIBIT
Ocean City Cape May PROHIBIT
Sea Isle Cape May PROHIBIT
Stone Harbor Cape May PROHIBIT
Upper Cape May Cape May PROHIBIT
Upper Township Cape May PROHIBIT
West Wildwood Cape May PROHIBIT
Wildwood Cape May PROHIBIT
Wildwood Crest Cape May PROHIBIT
Woodbine Cape May ALLOW
Deerfield Cumberland PROHIBIT
Greenwich Cumberland PROHIBIT
Maurice River Township Cumberland PROHIBIT
Upper Deerfield Cumberland PROHIBIT
Vineland Cumberland ALLOW
Deptford Gloucester PROHIBIT
East Greenwich Gloucester ALLOW (4)
Logan Gloucester ALLOW (2)
Mantua Gloucester PROHIBIT (7)
Monroe Gloucester ALLOW
South Harrison Gloucester PROHIBIT
Swedesboro Gloucester PROHIBIT
Washington Township Gloucester PROHIBIT
Wenonah Gloucester PROHIBIT
West Deptford Gloucester ALLOW
Westville Gloucester PROHIBIT
Woodbury Heights Gloucester PROHIBIT
Alloway Salem PROHIBIT
Carneys Point Salem ALLOW
Elsinboro Township Salem PROHIBIT
Lower Alloways Creek Salem ALLOW (3)
Mannington Salem PROHIBIT
Oldmans Salem PROHIBIT
Pilesgrove Salem PROHIBIT
Quinton Salem PROHIBIT
Salem Salem PROHIBIT
Upper Pittsgrove Salem PROHIBIT